Paging Dr. Wembley

I was browsing around Kensington Market this afternoon. As I walked into Exile (20 Kensington Avenue), the lovely salesgirl looked at me and giggled. When I asked what it was, she said that after the last time I had come in the store (3 weeks ago, I was looking for some surgical scrubs for my medical party) she and her co-workers had decided that I was a soap opera star. I thought she meant that I resembled an actor on General Hospital or something, but when I queried as to who it was she said, “No – we created a fake persona for you.” Apparently they called me Dr. Kendall Wembley, and then made up a brief but detailed backstory for my character. As it goes, I am currently in a coma, and my twin brother has just arrived on the scene (also played by me) who may or may not actually be my twin sister. Whew!

I wasn’t sure whether to be flattered or frightened.

3 Responses to “Paging Dr. Wembley”

  1. Chris Clarke Says:

    I’d be flattered. That’s awesome.

  2. Isabella Says:

    Please be flattered! In my math class, classic good looks + medical garb = soap star. Stop by Exile again and we’ll be happy to make up some more aliases for you. Also, good sports get rewarded with second-hand clothing discounts! Thanks for being gracious.

  3. lynn harpell Says:

    dear doctor wembley the exile staff adores you. Charming handsome and witty you are a fave customer. We decided the next time you came in to let u in your alias. cheers and please visit us again soon

Leave a Reply

