Suburbian Invasion (aka Taste of the Danforth)

Today one of my roommates and I decided to trek over to Greektown to check out Toronto’s largest street festival: Taste of the Danforth.  First of all, we took the subway because parking would probably be hell my roommate doesn’t remember how to ride a bike.  I haven’t been on the subway in a long time, and it was kind of funny because subways – like grocery stores – are the great equalizer.  You really see everybody on the subway, from businesspeople to crazies screaming throughout the whole car that they haven’t eaten anything in 4 days.

q-391.jpg

Anyway, by the time we get there I’m really hungry.  It was a good thing, because this festival is all about food.  And there were literally about a million people there, all interested in stuffing themselves tasting the delicacies of Greece.  I found it ironic, though, that much of the food was not Greek.  I mean, sure, the majority was food from Greek restaurants, but I thought this was supposed to be a Greek festival!  Why were there booths selling paella and corn on the cob?  But that’s really neither here nor there.  What’s important is that I got my fill of both delicious food as well as crazy Torontonians.  I ate all the most likely candidates: souvlaki, baklava, and spanakopita.  I also had some fresh fruit and a coke.  Mmmm.

q-400.jpgq-386.jpgq-395.jpg

q-387.jpgq-402.jpgq-398.jpg

q-389.jpgq-405.jpg

Top row: us eating
Middle row: close-ups of food, including the biggest spit of meat I’ve ever seen
Bottom row: crazies (somebody actually shaving at the Gillet Fusion booth, and a woman from some activist group claiming that 9/11 was “an inside job,” whatever that means.  Why the hell is she holding an earth painted on a lampshade?)

2 Responses to “Suburbian Invasion (aka Taste of the Danforth)”

  1. parkernow Says:

    “First of all, we took the subway because parking would probably be hell my roommate doesn’t remember how to ride a bike. ”

    I think that Amir is also unable to swim.

  2. Jimmy Says:

    OMG I remember that woman from 2007 I talked to that woman she was saying she was saving earth from god as he wanted to take earth away and she had a good hold on it.

    I think the police ended up taking her away and deflating her balloon of earth.

Leave a Reply

